Call for an appointment 773-584-6200

Child Wellness

Regardless of how old your children are, healthy habits are important. We have several programs for children and adolescents that are fun and help them stay healthy! To stay informed on upcoming events and program sessions, follow us on Facebook or return to this page.

Be Me Be Healthy

This educational support group provides adolescent girls ages 13-18 a space to talk openly with their peers about issues like sexuality, healthy relationships, and life challenges. Be Me Be Healthy meets for seven- or eight-week sessions in the fall and spring. The group meets at our Brighton Park and California clinics.

For more information about our Brighton Park group, contact Michelle Gonzalez, Women's Health Care Coordinator, at 773-584-6133 or agonzalez@esperanzachicago.org.

For more information about our California group, contact Magaly Villalba, Adult Medicine Care Coordinator, at 773-299-7930 x1557 or mvillalba@esperanzachicago.org.

BMBH_1 BMBH_2

Mano y Mente

This educational support group provides adolescent boys ages 13-18 a space to talk openly with their peers about the challenges they face as they grow into men: mental health, community violence, sexual health, self-care, and healthy relationships. Each participant is also paired with a community mentor. This six-week session concludes with an art show and an outing to Starved Rock State Park.

For more information, contact Daniel Vergara, Behavioral Health Counselor, at dvergara@esperanzachicago.org.

MYM_1 MYM_2

Vida Sana

Vida Sana, Spanish for "healthy life," helps kids to eat right and be active. This group meets for four-week sessions at our Brighton Park and California clinics, and includes two individual visits with a pediatric physician and two group sessions. The first group session includes sports and games for participants! The second session includes a cooking demonstration and food tasting. Vida Sana has fall and spring sessions. This group is for patients only.

For more information about our Brighton Park group, contact Lizza Magdaleno, Pediatrics Care Coordinator, at 773-916-4435 o lmagdaleno@esperanzachicago.org.

For more information about our California group, contact Asenet Vallejo, Pediatrics Care Coordinator, at 773-932-1016 or avallejo@esperanzachicago.org.

VS_1 VS_2

Reach Out and Read

At their first well-child visit, children under five are “prescribed” reading activities and given a brand new book.

For more information contact Jessica Torres, Care Coordination and Programs Manager, at 773-584-6136 or jtorres@esperanzachicago.org.

Girls on the Run & Heart and Sole

Our Girls on the Run team of 3rd to 5th grade girls, and our Heart and Sole team of 6th to 8th grade girls gain self-esteem, learn about physical activity, and build friendships while training for 12 weeks for a 5K race during both a spring and fall season. These teams meet at our California and Marquette clinics.

For more information about our California team, contact Asenet Vallejo, Pediatrics Care Coordinator, at 773-932-1016 or avallejo@esperanzachicago.org.

For more information about our Marquette team, contact Maricela Loredo, Health Center Manager, at 773-916-4431 or mloredo@esperanzachicago.org.

GOTR_1 GOTR_2

Dolly Parton's Imagination Library

Through our partnership with Open Books, we launched the Dolly Parton's Imagination Library program across all of our clinics. Through this literacy program, our youngest patients from designated coverage areas* will be gifted one age-appropriate book on a monthly basis until they are five years old. Not only does this help in their development, but it provides our young patients with access to a free library!

For more information, please contact Yarely Vergara, Programs Associate, at 773-299-7930 or yvergara@esperanzachicago.org.

(*) Designated coverage areas include 60608 (Pilsen), 60612 (East Garfield Park), 60621 (Englewood), 60623 (Little Village), 60624 (West Garfield Park), 60636 (West Englewood), 60644 (Austin), and 60651 (West Humboldt Park)

Dolly Parton